Reps. Levin, Fitzpatrick Announce Bipartisan Labor Law Reform

January 20, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressmen Andy Levin (MI-09), a member of the House Education & Labor Committee and Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), announced the reintroduction of their bipartisan SAFE (Secure And Fair Elections for) Workers Act. This bill demands the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) use the available technology of the 21st century to conduct elections remotely, allowing workers to organize while ensuring the safest workplace possible during the pandemic.

“I wanted my first act of this new Congress and this new administration, amidst this once in a lifetime pandemic, to be about worker safety.” said Rep. Levin. “I also wanted to send the message that we can work across the aisle in the economic interest of the American people, placing an important issue like this above the political fray. I am grateful to my Republican co-lead, Congressman Fitzpatrick, for partnering in this effort in the 116th Congress and again in this new session.  Today, we begin a new chapter of taking public health and workers’ rights seriously.”

“Over the last year we have seen COVID-19 impact our world in countless ways, most noticeably changing the daily lives of workers all across the country. We must continue to work together to protect the rights, health, and safety of American workers,” said Rep. Fitzpatrick. “Our bipartisan legislation will require the NLRB to allow workers to vote electronically. I am proud to once again introduce this legislation to protect the right to organize with my good friend Congressman Levin, and to continue the progress that was made last Congress.”

Along with 76 bipartisan cosponsors, the SAFE Workers Act is endorsed by the AFL-CIO, many of its affiliated unions, and other unions including: American Federation of Teachers (AFT); Communications Workers of America (CWA); International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAM); International Brotherhood of Teamsters (IBT); International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers (IFPTE); International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace & Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW); National Labor Relations Board Union (NLRBU); Service Employees International Union (SEIU); Transport Workers Union of America (TWU); and United Food & Commercial Workers International Union (UFCW).

In addition to Reps. Levin and Fitzpatrick, H.R. 308, The SAFE Workers Act is cosponsored by:

Cindy Axne (IA-03); Don Bacon (NE-02); Donald S. Beyer Jr. (VA-08); Sanford Bishop (GA-02); Earl Blumenauer (OR-03); Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-At Large); Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01); Brendan F. Boyle (PA-02); Julia Brownley (CA-26); André Carson (IN-07); Ed Case (HI-01); Judy Chu (CA-27); David Cicilline (RI-01); Steve Cohen (TN-09); Joe Courtney (CT-02); Val Butler Demings (FL-10); Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11); Ted Deutch (FL-22); Mike Doyle (PA-18); Anna G. Eshoo (CA-18); Bill Foster (IL-11); Ruben Gallego (AZ-07); John Garamendi (CA-03); Jesús G. "Chuy" García (IL-04); Al Green (TX-09); Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-03); Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20); Jahana Hayes (CT-05); Brian Higgins (NY-26); Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18); Pramila Jayapal (WA-07); Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. (GA-04); Marcy Kaptur (OH-09); William R. Keating (MA-09); Ro Khanna (CA-17); Dan Kildee (MI-05); Derek Kilmer (WA-06); John B. Larson (CT-01); Barbara Lee (CA-13); Ted Lieu (CA-33); Alan Lowenthal (CA-47); Stephen Lynch (MA-08); Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18); Kathy Manning (NC-06); David B. McKinley, P.E. (WV-01); Grace Meng (NY-06); Seth Moulton (MA-06); Frank Mrvan (IN-01); Marie Newman (IL-03); Donald Norcross (NJ-01); Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC); Ilhan Omar (MN-05); Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06); Bill Pascrell (NJ-08); Mark Pocan (WI-02); Katie Porter (CA-45); Tim Ryan (OH-13); Linda T. Sánchez (CA-39); Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05); Jan Schakowsky (IL-09); Albio Sires (NJ-08); Christopher H. Smith (NJ-04); Darren Soto (FL-09); Abigail Spanberger (VA-07); Haley M. Stevens (MI-11); Thomas R. Suozzi (NY-03); Eric Swalwell (CA-15); Mark Takano (CA-41); Bennie G. Thompson (MS-02); Paul Tonko (NY-20); Lori Trahan (MA-03); Juan Vargas (CA-51); Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12); Susan Wild (PA-07); Frederica S. Wilson (FL-24)